The district was first settled in 1866 by A.L. Fortune and J.B. Burns in Lansdowne, the original townsite. When the Shuswap and Okanagan Railway line was extended S to Okanagan Landing (1891-92) the townsite moved to its present location. The town was named for London financier W.C. Heaton-Armstrong, who raised the bonds for the railway project. Catherine Schubert (1837-1918), the only woman member of the OVERLANDERS OF 1862, lived in the district from 1883.
Armstrong, once known as "Celery City," has since diversified from grain, livestock and dairy products (from 1938 it has been home of the famous "Armstrong" cheese) to light manufacturing and, since a forest company constructed a mill near town in 1975, lumber and plywood. The Armstrong fall fair, started in 1900, has become western Canada's largest grade B livestock exposition.
Author PETER GRANT
Links to Other Sites
The website for the City of Armstrong, BC.
See maps and statistical data for regions and communities throughout British Columbia. A Government of British Columbia website.
BC Geographical Names
Search the BC Geographical Names Information System for historical and geographical data about specific locations in British Columbia.
Regional District of North Okanagan
Offers links to local municipalities located within the Regional District of North Okanagan.
British Columbia Archives
Explore the fascinating history of BC through online digitized copies of selected government documents, manuscripts, maps, architectural plans, photographs, illustrations, audio and video files, newspapers and much more.