Provincial Orders

On 9 May 1991 Provincial Orders were incorporated into the Order of Precedence for Canadian Orders, Declarations and Medals through Order in Council approved by the government of Canada. Provincial Orders are situated immediately after national orders (ie, the ORDER OF CANADA) and before declarations. They are listed in the following sequence based on the seniority of their establishment: L'ORDRE NATIONAL DU QUEBEC, the SASKATCHEWAN ORDER OF MERIT, the ORDER OF ONTARIO, the ORDER OF BRITISH COLUMBIA, the ALBERTA ORDER OF EXCELLENCE, the ORDER OF PRINCE EDWARD ISLAND, the ORDER OF MANITOBA, the ORDER OF NEW BRUNSWICK, the ORDER OF NOVA SCOTIA and the ORDER OF NEWFOUNDLAND AND LABRADOR.